Powerful

Sorry for the hiatus, though I promise I’ve been a good girl and stuck with my training regimen. My long runs are up to 7 miles (last week) and then dropped back this week (5 miles.)

I have today off and, being the Martha I am, made a list of things to accomplish. I live and die by the list. One of the things on the list was to hit the gym for a 4 miler. But I just couldn’t stomach the idea of another treadmill run. Though I enjoy getting my SportsCenter fix, it’s just so boring. My general rule of thumb is that if it’s <40 degrees outside, my run needs to be indoors. I’ve had too many bouts of wheezing after subzero runs and I need to be smart.

But I just couldn’t do it today. I saw that it was 35 degrees out, and thought to myself “5 rounds up in math, which would be 40 degrees, so go run outside.” So I put on my cold weather gear and hit the road. And although I was freezing at the beginning, I was profusely sweating by the time I came back. It felt good to run outdoors with real hills and real wind resistance and steps I chose to take.

I was walking in the middle of an intersection when the oncoming traffic got the green light. I was forced to sprint to the other side. And I can’t explain it, maybe it’s a runner thing, but I feel such power when I suddenly transition from walk to sprint. I feel formidable.

I’m reading One Word That Will Change Your Life upon recommendation from a friend, and honestly it’s a little too cheesy-happy for my style, but I like the message it conveys. In my mind, I kept returning to the word ‘powerful’ – and it’s become my 2015 word. We’ll see how it influences my run.

I want to do everything with Power. Strength. Grace.

About CMN

She is clothed in strength and dignity, and she laughs at the days to come.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

