Power in the calm

Running friend and I have started a new tradition of sorts where we attend Friday power yoga with our favorite instructor and then get pretty and go out to dinner. Yoga, one of my best friends, and food? Done.

Before yoga starts, our instructor asks us to silently set our intentions. My intentions always vacillate between feeling the immense power that lies in my body and feeling the inherent calm that vinyasa yoga provides. Half the time I get too competitive and, as my students say, “do the most,” but I do try continually to focus and re-focus on my intention.

I went for a 10 mile run on Saturday morning. I chose to run to, and then in, Schenley Park. It was hot as heck that day, and I appreciated the shade that the trees would provide. I also wanted to get some more practice running on trails, since the half marathon I am running this Saturday is a trail run.

Once I got onto one of the main trails of the park, I knew I had made the right choice. Look how calming this is. Minus the hill, that is!

  
I felt so calm running through the beauty that is that park. I truly felt like I wasn’t in the city anymore. And it was in that moment that I realized that power and calm aren’t mutually exclusive.

I have survived myriad tough situations by maintaining calm (even if just a facade) and letting my quiet power shine through. When I have wanted something or felt driven to do something, I put my head down and get it done…whether that is a marathon or a promotion at work.

God’s gift of amazing grace coupled with His immense, indomitable power – I am blessed to have even an ounce of it.

About CMN

She is clothed in strength and dignity, and she laughs at the days to come.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

