No R(ICE) for the weary

And then the final kick to my ego from the last post…

Two Fridays ago, I was running around at work doing all the things, and felt moderate pain on the outside of my left foot, near my ankle. I had things to do before the weekend started, including grocery shopping (ain’t nobody got time to wait in a weekend Trader Joe’s line.)

By the time I walked out of Trader Joe’s, I had my heel out of my Sperry and was walking on my left toes, almost in tears.

I have NEVER felt pain that acute, that severe. I have been so blessed to rarely, if never, injure myself while running, and here I was, a week after the Great Race, hobbling around.

It dissipated through the weekend as I largely tried to stay off my feet, but I resolved to go to urgent care if it hurt again on Monday when I had to move around again.

And hurt it did, so to urgent care I sprinted. (Or hobbled, as it were.)

They x-rayed me to do a differential diagnosis from a broken fifth metatarsal, and then ultimately diagnosed me with peroneal tendonitis. Good old RICE as long as I have pain. To which I chuckled and said, I’m a high school science teacher, I cannot satisfy the R here.

And thus ensued a medical order to wear running shoes to work for the next 1-2 weeks, which is much needed.

This all underscores my need to cross-train. I’m going to hopefully join the gym in the next few weeks so I can swim and lift and build other muscle. For what it’s worth, I do miss running and moving without pain in general, so there’s that.

And it underscores the need to train properly – I need to take my own.damn.advice. Just because I ran 2 marathons doesn’t mean I can NOT train for things. I’m now much stronger mentally than I am physically…and those things need to balance more.

My church celebrated its sesquicentennial anniversary the other day, and they played one of my favorite hymns. The lyrics are actually written by a Shadyside pastor for our 50th anniversary and are timeless. I found myself going back to these words in my time of doubt regarding my running/exercise life, especially the third verse.

God of our life, through all the circling years, we trust in Thee.
In all the past, through all our hopes and fears, thy hand we see.
With each new day, when morning lifts the veil,
We own Thy mercies, Lord, which never fail.

God of the past, our times are in Thy hand; with us abide.
Lead us by faith to hope’s true promised land; be Thou our Guide.
With Thee to bless, the darkness shines as light,
And faith’s fair vision changes into sight.

God of the coming years, through paths unknown we follow Thee;
When we are strong, Lord, leave us not alone; our Refuge be.
Be Thou for us in life our daily bread,
Our heart’s true Home when all our years have sped.

About CMN

She is clothed in strength and dignity, and she laughs at the days to come.
This entry was posted in body, cross training, rest, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

