Answers?

UPMC’s Center for Sports Medicine was my destination last week…to finally put a name on this nagging foot pain. Yes, I should have gone earlier, but I am a fine mix of denial and stubbornness. Thanks Mom.

I find it ironic, and motivating, that the path that runs near the facility has been the recipient of many of my footsteps on my long runs. When I had to do 10-11 miles in my training, I’d often run from my home to the Birmingham Bridge, into the South Side, down near the Hot Metal Bridge, and then go back. I actually really love running bridges, as evidenced by one of my favorite running photos during my very first marathon (here I am on the Birmingham Bridge!)

768833-1072-0043s

As I got closer to the facility, I felt anger. Anger with myself, for waiting so long; anger with my body, for getting injured; anger that I might not be able to run long distances again.

The doctor was kind – he is also a runner and could empathize with my frustration, my inability to run. He ordered a MRI that I will receive tomorrow morning.

The best and worst thing that could happen to me is that they don’t see anything. I definitely feel pain, but the human body is daunting when trying to identify issues, especially those of runners. I’m not about to pay $$$ for them to see nothing. So what did I do today?

Ran inclines on the treadmill. I could only go to 2.25 miles (where I’ve been maxing out before pain.) It’s definitely tender now, so hopefully I’ve provoked the beast.

In getting ready, I had to take off my college ring. (It’s bent and misshapen and I was worried I wouldn’t be able to get it off when I needed to!) And tomorrow I’ll have to take off my silicone Proverbs 31 bracelet. Those of you who know me know I love to fidget, especially when stressed. No fidgeting for anxious Corinne tomorrow.

About CMN

She is clothed in strength and dignity, and she laughs at the days to come.
This entry was posted in body, injury, patience, trials, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

