Walking Boot to 5K

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.” – Hebrews 12:1

The Pittsburgh Marathon was today. I knew it was going to be a mentally hard day – after all, I’ve participated in every Pittsburgh Marathon since I moved up here (1 relay, 3 half marathons, and 2 full marathons. One of those halfs and the relay were before I had this blog!) I love the feeling of camaraderie as I run the streets, the realization that mind strength can trump body strength, and the feeling of bliss as you cross the elusive finish line.

This year, I spectated and cheered for Bob’s father and sister, both of whom did marvelously despite a cold start.

I’ve been walking 1.5 miles at the gym without pain, and this afternoon I decided enough was enough – I wanted to try and run. I started this whole running thing back in 2008 with the Couch to 5K plan, so I downloaded it and off I went. 60 second jog, 90 second walk, cycled for 20 minutes. I felt the teeniest tiniest bit of pain right at the end, so I’ll repeat this plan for a week (obviously with rest days and anti-inflammatories.)

It was hard to jog and not run. I haven’t run since March 19, and my body wanted to make up for lost time. But in due time, Corinne.

About CMN

She is clothed in strength and dignity, and she laughs at the days to come.
This entry was posted in body, hope, injury, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

