Growth in the unknown

There’s something to be said about recircling your past.

I’ve been successfully semi-running using the Couch to 5K app. I haven’t been running a ton as I’m still easing back into it and am beyond fearful of re-injury, but I’ve been supplementing with swimming and lifting and hot yoga. (THAT was an adjustment. Running friend and I started making it a semi-habit again, and I swear I can feel every single muscle in my butt/shoulders/whatever our instructor focused on the next morning.)

I am admittedly not a morning person in the slightest, but a friend and I were chatting last night – he and I used to get up early on Sunday mornings, run, and end at Whole Foods for a donut. (The best kind of run.)

I needed a few things at Whole Foods and it’s easier to achieve world peace than it is to park in their lot, so I decided to go run and end there again. Today’s “plan” was alternating 90 seconds of running and 2 minutes of walking for a half hour. That’s about a 2.5 mile route for me.

And en route, I ran by where I got my MRI. IMG_1305

I had to push myself to get diagnosed and get treated, but I’m better off for it. The fear of the unknown inhibited my healing, but I overcame it and grew stronger.

The fear of the unknown and the subsequent journey to growth has manifested itself in other ways in my life. I’m proud to say that I will be moving from the classroom to administration this summer and becoming instructional coach at my school. It’s hard to think that I’m writing my last lesson plans right now, but I welcome the challenge.

And I was humbled to learn that I was nominated, and then elected this past Sunday, to become a deacon at my church. Deacons are involved with the congregation through kindness and acts of service. Between these two huge changes in my life, I’m excited to see where God will lead me and what lessons I’ll learn.

(Epilogue: I didn’t get a donut on this run. They raised the price! I got a lime La Croix instead and sulked.)

About CMN

She is clothed in strength and dignity, and she laughs at the days to come.
This entry was posted in gratitude, hope, injury, morning, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

